My poached egg

After a disappointing epi-log post that was only a tease for poached-egg-advice, I was determined to make a nice poached egg for lunch.  And it happened in one try.  Simple. Pretty. Delicious.  (and I’ve only made a handful of these before)

I wasn’t even that optimistic in my poached egg attempt, but thought it would be a good moment to give it a try, or a couple of tries, in order to land on a reliable trick.  Unfortunately for the experiment idea, it worked so well the first time that I couldn’t bring myself to make any more.  I followed the standard tips I’ve heard before: crack the egg into a shallow bowl for transferring it to the water; add vinegar just before the egg; and, have the water hot but not at a rolling boil.  The water came to a nice boil when I added the vinegar and it settled quickly, producing bubbles on the bottom but not agitating the water very much.  Afraid it would start boiling harder, I turned the heat down a bit.

Then I gently tilted the (fresh farmers’ market) egg into the pan.  It sank to the bottom more than I’ve seen in the past, but I left it there a good minute before scooping it up with the wooden spoon, trying to keep it rolled in a nice ball.  After 3-4 minutes in the water (still barely boiling), I removed it and let it rest.

One part of the egg had some stringy bits hanging off, but with that side down, the rest of the egg had a smooth poached-eggy look that was good enough for my aesthetic aspirations.

With some more CSA red-leaf lettuce, fresh herbs (curly parsley, summer savory, and basil from my plant), a little leftover oil-and-lemon-juice dressing, and some shaved parmesan, I made a beautiful nest for my poached egg.  I added the egg to the lettuce and released the runny yolk into the salad.  The egg was beautiful and added nicely to the flavors of the salad, but the shaved parmesan was really key in bringing the flavors together.  Unfortunately, the lettuce was still a little wet and diluted the flavor of the yolk, so next time I’d be sure to use very dry, crisp lettuce.  While this could use other herbs, and certain other cheeses, the simplicity and freshness of the flavors was key to its success.

One Response to My poached egg

  1. Kari says:

    NICE!

Leave a Reply

