Brunch with Rhubarb

Rhubarb is in season!  I had pies in mind, but it was breakfast time and I wanted some now.  So, I used a very interesting sounding recipe that was intended for dessert and instead used it as a syrup/topping for some eggy french toast.

I followed the recipe as suggested, making half of the suggested amount but using a full cardamom pod, slightly less sugar, and no orange zest…and I forgot all about the lemon juice!  It baked together and smelled wonderfully, just as promised.  It ended up about the consistency of baked apples or a really chunky fruit jam.  I think if I had more rhubarb I would make it more rhubarb heavy to really up the rhubarb flavor, which paired so, so nicely with the tea and cardamom.

The french toast was simply made from  egg and milk, 1 : 1/4 C with a dash of fresh grated nutmeg.  Greenmarket whole wheat sourdough was soaked in the batter and fried.  It was eggy and just how we like it!

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

One Response to Brunch with Rhubarb

  1. Elin says:

    Looks delicious – missed being with you on Mother’s Day!!

Leave a Reply

