Spicy sautéed vegetables meal

I like meals made up of multiple components, especially ones that include a (not necessarily green) salad.  So, when I took over the cooking one evening, I was going to use our greenmarket cabbage in a fresh salad. One thing led to another, and we ended up with lightly sautéed spicy vegetables next to a simple baked tilapia fillet, with some roasted potato wedges on the side for good measure.

I heat up a little olive oil over medium-low heat, and tossed in an onion cut into strips, and, a little later, a whole lot of greenmarket cabbage.  A little later, I added sliced white mushrooms and frozen peas.  I forgot about carrots until the end, but julienned and added for the last 10 minutes, they turned out fine.

I didn’t season until the end—I added salt and pepper, and then I added more sesame oil and some watered down rooster sauce until the vegetables were nicely spicy.  All told, the vegetables were on heat for about half an hour.

I prepared the tilapia super-simply.  I put the frozen fillet directly on tin foil and brushed it with olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar, and covered it lightly with salt and pepper.  I put it in the oven at 350 ºF until it was cooked through, about 12 minutes.

I cut greenmarket red potatoes into wedges, and tossed with olive oil, rosemary, seasoned salt, and pepper.  I put them in with the tilapia at 350 ºF; I took out some of the wedges after 15 minutes, and for the rest, I turned the heat down to 250 ºF and kept them in for another ~15 minutes.  They were crispy on the outside, and soft (and delicious) on the inside.

Leave a Reply

